This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Question from Peter Donker about cache and url clashing

May 19, 2013 at 1:51 PM
So I've begun playing with this. I'm somewhat new to the whole friendly url thing. So let me get this straight. Upon application start you go round all installed providers and ask them "give me a list of url rules" and you cache those, right? I noticed you set the cache by hand to 20 mins. I believe the preferred practice is to just let DNN decide the cache timeout. But that's not important right now. What I'd like to know is how you'd deal with situations where you get clashes. I.e. a product name is the same as a category name, for instance. Or two modules use CatId. Is this method able to keep those apart?
May 19, 2013 at 2:02 PM
1) Upon application start you go round all installed providers and ask them "give me a list of url rules" and you cache those, right?
Yes
2) I noticed you set the cache by hand to 20 mins.
No, in version 0.1 its infinite cache. You have to clear cache by hand (Tools, clear cache).
3) I believe the preferred practice is to just let DNN decide the cache timeout.
In version 0.2 (next version) , its depending on the host cache settings (between 20 min and 3 hours)
In version 0.2, there is also a automatic cache clearing depending on other modules cache clearing. So when for exemple dnn clear the internal tabs cache, the openurlrewriter cache is automatically cleared. This works also for modules witch internally use cache like Property Agent.
4) What I'd like to know is how you'd deal with situations where you get clashes. I.e. a product name is the same as a category name, for instance. Or two modules use CatId. Is this method able to keep those apart?
Each UrlRule have a scope defined by PortalId, CultureCode, TabId. (TabId scope is already there, but the logic is not yet implemented).
So you (the provider) can limit clashes to urls on one page.